KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH SCHOOL DISTRICT 148 N. Binkley Street Soldotna, AK 99669

Dr. Donna Peterson, Superintendent

June 3, 2002

NEWS IN BRIEF

AWARDS AND PRESENTATIONS: The Board presented golden apple awards to Mrs. Mary Kennedy and members of the Soldotna High School PTSA Executive Board (Mr. Dale Dolifka, Mrs. Judy Swarner, Mrs. Zena Udelhoven, Mrs. Sandra Ghormley) for their service to the District.

On behalf of British Petroleum, Board members presented commemorative plaques to Ms. Gayle Buben, Mrs. Terri Carter, Mrs. Elizabeth Kirby, and Mr. Joe Rizzo for being chosen as 2001-2002 British Petroleum Teachers of Excellence. Mr. Vernel Schneider was also a recipient but was not present. Mr. Syverson noted that each teacher will have an opportunity to visit BP Exploration on the North Slope.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT: Dr. Peterson reported that the Board goal setting session will be held June 4, 9:00 a.m., at the Kenai River Center. She reminded the Board that the BP Teachers of Excellence recognition dinner will be held June 4, 6:00 p.m. at the Kenai Merit Inn. She reported that the District summer school opened with approximately 40 teachers and 400 students and will operate from June 3 through June 28. She announced that the final student enrollment is 59 students less than the 2002-2003 projected enrollment.

FINANCIAL REPORT: Mrs. Douglas presented the financial report of the District for the period ending April 30, 2002.

Budget Transfer Number 621: The Board unanimously approved budget transfer Number 621 for \$13,267.00 to offset a long-term substitute teacher contract at Skyview High School.

New Teacher Assignments: The Board unanimously approved teacher assignments for the 2002-2003 school year for Clayton D. Kramer, high school special education/resource; districtwide special services; Linda E. Hampson, school counselor, Homer High; Debra Rose Blossom, Grade 5 (.50 FTE temporary), K-Beach Elementary; Dawn M. Brighton, English; Kenai Central High; Christopher A. Jenness, middle school generalist, Nikiski Middle/High; M. Jayne McFarland, speech/language pathologist, Redoubt Elementary; Julianna R. DeBoard, Title I reading (temporary); Seward Elementary; Teresa A. Cowart, Grade 6 (temporary), Tustumena Elementary; Janet Szyjkowski, generalist, Connections; Ed Frink, generalist, Kachemak Selo; and Susan Rorrison, Grades K, 1, or 2 (.50 FTE temporary), Sears Elementary.

Tentative Nontenure Teacher Assignments: The Board unanimously approved tentative nontenure teaching assignments for Don R. Drury, Grade 3, Aurora Borealis Charter; Sally A. Burns, Title I reading (temporary), Kachemak-Selo; Carol A. Boehmler, Grade 3, K-Beach Elementary; Lisa M. Chambers, Title I reading (temporary), K-Beach Elementary; Christopher Towne, elementary music, Paul Banks and Homer Area; Katrina A. Adamson, Grades 4/5 or grade 5, Redoubt Elementary; Matthew J. Faris, Grades 2/3, Redoubt Elementary; Cindy J. Hurst, Grades K-2 or 2 (temporary), Sears Elementary; and Teri L. Haddeland, upper elementary, Seward Elementary.

Long-Term Substitute Teacher Contracts: The Board unanimously approved long-term substitute teacher contracts for Rita Pfeniger, math, Homer Middle; Matthew Fischer, physical education/health, Soldotna High; and JoAnn McClain, math/social studies/language arts, Seward Middle.

Resignations: The Board unanimously approved resignations with various effective dates for Celia Anderson, art specialist, Mountain View Elementary; Amy Galloway, generalist, Voznesenka; Margaret Brewster, librarian, Homer High; Brenda Dolma, science, Homer Middle; JoEllen Fowler, Grade 4/5, Tustumena Elementary; Michelle Garnto, special education, resource, Kenai Central High; Margaret Ladd, QUEST, library, West Homer Elementary; Heather Pancratz, middle school coordinator, Homer Middle; Anne Pfitzner, Grade 6, Soldotna Elementary; Richard Putney, director, Human Resources; Kathy A. Sandoval, special education resource, Seward Middle/High; Laurie Jane Esp, Grades K-2, Connections; and Janet Shepard, special education resource, Susan B. English Elementary/High.

Leave of Absence Requests – Certified: The Board unanimously approved unpaid leave of absence requests for the 2002-2003 school year for Liana Bigham, social studies, Kenai Central High; L. Joseph Trujillo, Spanish, Skyview High; and Penny Tinker, special education, Sterling Elementary.

Leave of Absence Requests – Support: The Board unanimously approved unpaid leave of absence requests for the 2002-2003 school year for Etta Mae Near, Carl Perkins vocational education tutor, Skyview High and Johnnie Standifer, custodian, Tebughna Elementary/High.

Nontenure teachers for Tenure: The Board unanimously approved nontenured teachers, Kristy L. Schmelzenbach, Kristin E. Morrow, Tara J. Rosin, Cindy M. Thomas, Janet S. Boyce, Douglas Gordon, Andrea Eggleston, and Virginia M. Morgan, for tenure.

Budget Transfer: The Board unanimously approved a budget transfer for \$175,699 to purchase social studies and health curriculum materials at the close of the 2001-2002 fiscal year.

Seldovia Boys and Girls Club Building Study: The Board unanimously approved a proposal from the Boys and Girls Club to conduct a study to design and build on Borough property adjacent to Susan B. English School in Seldovia.

FY03 Budget Revision: The Board unanimously approved a FY03 operating fund budget of \$76,506,530 and a total budget for all funds of \$92,034,139.

Administrator Appointments: The Board unanimously approved Dennis Dunn as the Kenai Central High principal, Lori Manion as the North Star Elementary principal, Sharon Moock as the Kenai Middle assistant principal, Sharon Conley as the Razdolna School principal/teacher and Sean Dusek as the Soldotna High principal.

FIRST READING OF POLICY REVISIONS: The Board heard a first reading of BP 3440, Inventories and BP 6146.1, High School Graduation Requirements.

NEXT REGULAR MEETING: The next regularly scheduled School Board Meeting is Monday, July 1, 2002, 7:30 p.m., Borough Administration Building, Soldotna, Alaska.

* * * * * * * * * *