Kenai Peninsula Borough School District Board of Education Meeting News In Brief

May 2, 2005 – 7:00 p.m. Dr. Donna Peterson, Superintendent Seward High School, 2100 Swetmann Seward, Alaska

AWARDS AND PRESENTATIONS: The Board presented Mr. Chad Atkinson-Adams with the Spirit of Youth Award Nomination Certificate for volunteer hours spent adding a support structure to a multi bridge spanning Thacker Creek near Seward.

The Board presented Miss Amy Collman with the Boys and Girls Club Alaska Youth of the Year First Runner-Up Award.

SCHOOL REPORT: Mr. David Kingsland, Seward Elementary principal, reported on the school's assessment scores, Title I tutoring program, reading program, and partnerships with other organizations. He gave a PowerPoint presentation highlighting the facility, staff, students, class projects, activities, and extended learning opportunities.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT: Dr. Peterson announced that teacher appreciation week is May 1 through 7 and asked the public to acknowledge and thank teachers. She announced that she will attend the Mt. View Site Council meeting to answer questions regarding consolidation. She reported that she will meet with U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski on Wednesday, May 4 and noted that it will provide a chance to talk about how the NCLB Act impacts the District. She announced that interviews for the Redoubt Elementary principal position are scheduled for Thursday, May 5 at 4:45 p.m. She stated that she will conduct a staffing conversation with the Seldovia community on Friday, May 6 at 3:00 p.m. She noted that the end of the legislative session will be May 10. She reminded the Board that the BP Teachers of Excellence recognition dinner will be held on May 16. She stated that she will conduct a staffing conversation with the Port Graham community on May 17 at 7:00 pm.

APPROVAL OF HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATION QUALIFYING EXAM WAIVER: The Board unanimously approved a High School Graduation Qualifying Exam Waiver request Number 2005-06.

NONTENURE TEACHERS FOR TENURE, 2005-2006: The Board approved Deborah Harris, Timothy McFarland, Janet Szajkowski, Suzanne Bishop, Dawn Brighton, Andrea Cacek, Christopher Towne, Agusta Lind, Lori Krier, Jennifer McDonald, Galen Brantley, Matthew Fischer, and Susan Larned, tentative nontenured teachers, for tenure.

TENTATIVE NONTENURE TEACHER ASSIGNMENTS, 2005-06: The Board unanimously approved tentative nontenure teacher assignments for the 2005-2006 school year for Suzanne Phillips, Grade 8, Aurora Borealis; Nancy Kleine, (temporary) Homer Area/ATOSS, Connections; Anne E. Peel, Special Education emotionally handicapped, Homer Middle; Christine Faber, (temporary) Title I/Migrant/Special Education, Kachemak Selo; Ingrid McKinstry, (temporary) .50 FTE Migrant/Title I teacher, Razdolna; Barbara Baldwin, (temporary) Title I Reading teacher, Redoubt Elementary; MaryEllen Dalberg, (temporary) .60 FTE Title I teacher, Seward Elementary; Naomi Fischer, math/science teacher, Seward Middle; Mark Woodward, language arts/social studies, Seward Middle; Karl Kircher, (temporary) Title V reading teacher, Soldotna Middle School; Alissa Mattson, English, Soldotna High School; Kathleen Holt, Grades K-2, Soldotna Montessori; Ann McCabe, Grades 1-3, Soldotna Montessori; Michael Audette, music, Sterling Elementary; Leah Dubber, social studies/math, Susan B. English Elementary/High; Tamara Johnson, (.50 FTE permanent/.25 FTE temporary) Grades-K-6, Susan B. English Elementary/High; Timothy Winters, Grades 7-12, Susan B. English Elementary/High; Lucas Peless, secondary generalist, Tebughna Elementary/High; Kristen Peless, Grades K-8, Tebughna Elementary/High; and Linda Etzwiler, (temporary) Title I/Migrant teacher, Voznesenka.

RESIGNATIONS: The Board unanimously approved resignations for Stan J. Eller, biology, Homer High School; Danielle Thompson, speech language pathologist, Homer Middle; Hans Bilben, vocational education, Kenai Alternative; Charlotte Records, (currently on leave of absence for the 04-05 school year), Ninilchik Elementary/High; Jeanne Sorenson, Grades 1 and 2, Sears Elementary; Jeanne Frederickson, Grade 6, Seward Elementary; Janice Kristenson, kindergarten, Seward Elementary; DeEtta Scarborough, Grade 3, Seward Elementary; Mark Devenney, special education/resource, Soldotna High; and Charity Winters, special education/resource, Susan B. English Elementary/High.

ADMINISTRATOR APPOINTMENT: The Board unanimously approved the appointment of Todd Syverson as Soldotna High School principal.

TEACHER ASSIGNMENT, 2004-2005: The Board unanimously approved a teacher assignment for 2004-2005 for Christy Mulyca, (temporary) business/technology education at Seward High School.

TERMINATIONS: The Board unanimously approved the termination of 2 employees for expiration of Alaska Teaching Certificate.

HOUSING FOR FIREWEED ACADEMY: The Board approved a recommendation to move Fireweed Academy to West Homer Elementary and house the program in three adjacent rooms.

NEXT REGULAR MEETING: The next regularly scheduled School Board Meeting is Monday, June 6, 2005, 7:00 p.m., Borough Administration Building, Soldotna, Alaska.

* * * * * * * * * *