Kenai Peninsula Borough School District Board of Education Special Meeting Minutes

October 26, 2005 – 1:00 p.m. Special Meeting	Borough Administration Building 148 N. Binkley, Soldotna, Alaska	
SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS:	Mrs. Debra Mullins, President Mrs. Sammy Crawford, Vice Presid Ms. Sandra Wassilie, Clerk Mr. Marty Anderson, Treasurer Dr. Nels Anderson Mrs. Debbie Brown Mrs. Liz Downing Mrs. Sunni Hilts (Vacant) Miss Kelly King, Student Represen	
STAFF PRESENT:	Dr. Donna Peterson, Superintendent of Schools Mrs. Melody Douglas, Chief Financial Officer	
OTHERS PRESENT:	MR. Phil Herminak Mrs. Cathy Carrow Mrs. Gwen Johnson (via audio conference) Others present not identified.	Mr. Howard Dorsey Mr. Bill Hatch Mr. Jon Walters Mr. Tim Peterson
CALL TO ORDER:	Mrs. Mullins called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m.	
(1:04:23 PM) PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: (1:04:30 PM)	Mrs. Mullins invited those present to participate in the Pledge of Allegiance.	
ROLL CALL: (1:04:50 PM)	Mrs. Debra Mullins Mrs. Sammy Crawford Ms. Sandra Wassilie Mr. Marty Anderson Dr. Nels Anderson Mrs. Debbie Brown Mrs. Liz Downing Mrs. Sunni Hilts Miss Kelly King	Present Present Present Present Present Present Present Absent/Excused
APPROVAL OF AGENDA: (1:05:21 PM)	The agenda was approved as written.	
SCHOOL BOARD VACANCY: (1:05:37 PM)	Mrs. Mullins announced that the Board will consider the issue of the School Board Vacancy Replacement for District Seat 2.	
MOTION	Dr. Anderson moved the Board fill the School Board vacancy for District Seat 2. Mrs. Crawford seconded.	
	Mrs. Mullins explained that the vote will be taken via secret ballot that contains the names of Howard Dorsy, William Hatch, Gwen Johnson, and Jon Walters. She explained that 5 votes are needed to seat the new Board member.	

SCHOOL BOARD VACANCY: VOTE 1: (continued) Howard Dorsey - 0 William Hatch – 3 Gwen Johnson - 1 Jon Walters – 4 VOTE 2: Howard Dorsey - 0 William Hatch – 3 Gwen Johnson – 1 Jon Walters – 4 Mrs. Mullins suggested Board members consider casting votes for the top two candidates. Mrs. Brown asked that Board members stay with the current process. Mr. Dorsey asked to withdraw his name from consideration. VOTE 3: William Hatch – 4 Gwen Johnson - 1 Jon Walters – 3 VOTE 4: William Hatch - 6 Gwen Johnson – 2 Jon Walters - 0 Mr. William Hatch was selected as the Kenai District Seat 2 Board member. **OATH OF OFFICE:** Mrs. Sally Tachick, notary public, administered the Oath of Office (1:19:15 PM) to Mr. Hatch. **ADJOURN:** At 1:21 p.m., Mrs. Crawford moved the School Board meeting be (1:21:22 PM) adjourned. Mrs. Wassilie seconded. Motion carried unanimously. Respectfully submitted, Mrs. Debra Mullins, President

Mrs. Sandy Wassilie, Clerk

The Minutes of October 26, 2005, were approved on November 7, 2005 as written.